SOPA Members

Diana Findley was elected as Chairperson at SOPA’s AGM on 26 July 2018.  

diana findley

Born and educated in Angus, Diana attended Business College after school  During her working life she was a Personal Assistant at director level in three different international companies in England.  She also worked in hotel management, and latterly worked with her husband in their own business. On retirement, Diana became involved with Better Government for Older People and was the Chairperson of its Scottish section, the Scottish Older People's Advisory Group. She has served on Age Scotland Board and is currently their Regional Ambassador for the Borders as well as a Trustee of SOPA.  Locally, she is chairperson of Borders Older People's Forum, is on the Borders Social Enterprise Chamber and attends various other groups  in relation to Older People and their concerns with Scottish Borders Council and NHS.

"I believe it is most important to strengthen the voices of our older people and make these known and understood by those who have the power to make changes and improve lives."  

Full Members

Aberdeen Multicultural Centre: Dr Narayan Shrestha

Ability Net: Chris Grant

Action on Elder Abuse: Brian Rapley

Age Scotland: Diana Findley (SOPA Chair)

Alzheimer Scotland: Archie Noone (Scottish Dementia Working Group)

Association of East Lothian Day Centres: David Ferrier

Borders Older People's Forum: Diana Findley (SOPA Chair)

Broomhouse Centre: Nancy Bryson

Clackmannanshire Older Peoples Forum: Graham Reece

Clydesdale Community Acitivities Group​: Anne Marie McClounan

Deaf Scotland: (Awaiting new member)

Disabled Living Foundation: Dianna Stirling

Dementia Friendly Tranent: Rosanne Woods

Dumfries & Galloway Seniors Forum: John White

Edinburgh Association of Community Councils: Patricia Eason

Erskine: Lorraine Haining

Faith in Older People: Maureen O'Neill

Falkirk Older People's Network: David Paterson

Food Train: Michelle Carruthers

Generations Working Together: Alison Clyde

GMB Union (Retired Members):  awaiting new member

Health All Round: Gloria Gibbons

Highland Senior Citizens Network: Jo Cowan

Human Development Scotland: Christine Wilson

Independent Age: Gerry Kiernan 

Interfaith Association: Bashir A Malik

Learning in Later Life Students' Association, University of Strathclyde: Carl Bow

Living Streets Scotland: Penny Morriss

LGBT Age: John Thomson

National Federation of Occupational Pensioners: Alan Spinks

Local Older People's Champions: Cllr Jimmy Miller (North Ayrshire Council), Cllr Elaine Thornton-Nico (Scottish Borders Council), Cllr Jim McMahon (East Ayrshire Council), Cllr Lynne Short (Dundee City Council), Cllr Jennifer Adam-McGregor (Renfrewshire Council)

Outside the Box: Christine Ryder

Pilmeny Development Project, Edinburgh. Anne Munro

Quiet Scotland: Anne Wellman

Retired Police Officers Association Scotland Matt Hamilton

RNIB: Sandra Wilson

Seniors Together (South Lanarkshire): Catriona Mason

Shared Lives Plus: Lesley Stevenson

Sighthill, Broomhouse and Parkhead Community Council:  Betty Milton 

Stirling Public Partnership Forum: Eileen Wallace

Trust Housing Association (Equality Scotland): Rohini Sharma Joshi

U3A in Scotland: awaiting new member

U3A Edinburgh: Keith Guy

Unite Retired Members Association, Dumfries: Alan Sidaway (SOPA Vice Chair)

Unite Retired Members Association, Lanarkshire: Sam Gibson 

Voice of Experience Forum (North Lanarkshire): Beverley Lockhart

SOPA Trustees: Diana Findley, Sam Gibson, Betty Milton, Alan Sidaway, Alan Spinks, Eileen Wallace, John White, Christine Wilson, Elaine Thornton-Nicol.

SOPA is grateful for funding received from the Scottish Government and National Lottery Awards for All.
Scottish Government
National Lottery
site map | cookie policy | privacy policy | accessibility statement